Guest dma251

Motor shut off and won't crank now - seized?

Guest dma251

I had a great weekend, until this happened...

I was taking a fairly modest 70 mph run down the lake, when I trimmed down to turn around, and mid-turn the motor died. Trying to restart, it acted like the battery was dead. I got a couple of cranks out of it, and then no rotation at all. Pulled the battery, charged it for a couply hours, and still nothing. It tries to crank, but no engine rotation, just a bark out of the starter. I am fairly certain the starter is engaging, but either i have a very bad battery, or a seized engine, I suspect.

I am home now, and haven't looked at it yet, but I am very concerned. I just bought this thing. I was absulutely RELIGIOUS in my oil mixture - 32:1 Pennzoil Synthetic, and 91 octane premium. I hadn't run it very hard all weekend, as I am just getting started. I hit 94 mph once. That's it.

If I pull a head off, do I have to replace the head gasket with a new one? Assuming the worst, I had a seizure, what am I looking at to make it right again? I am pretty mechanical, and have rebuilt plenty of car engines, but this is my first two stroke. It looks pretty simple, and I have a factory manual. How much are parts to do this? Sleeves?

THIS SUCKS!!!!!

Start by pulling the spark plugs to see what they look like. If they all look the same then drop the lower unit, and then try to crank the engine over by hand. If one of the spark plugs looks way different then pull the heads. It should turn easy with a wrench on the flywheel. If it doesn't then pull the heads. The big question once the cause of failure is found is to find out WHY it did it! Please post some pictures once you get it apart.

I just did a re-ring on my 300PM which was my first OB rebuild and all went well. Just follow the manual. I'm also a pro mechanic for VW/Porsche/Audi and the OB is simple design comaprted to some of the engines I have had to repair.