96EuroSTV

Gearcase swap question...

I've got a 96' Roark Built Euro with a 93 2.5 carb, and last fall the driveshaft snapped just above the water pump (as I hear they commonly do). The gearcase is a CLE w/ Bob's nosecone, allison skeg, and blowout ring. I have a 20" Sportmaster available to me, but I know that will require a different mid section, and shifter shaft. Anything else?

So here's my question: My boat was factory drilled for the 2.5 and it's a standard 25". Will I have to get a jack plate to go with the shorter shaft? Steering cables will be the problem right? Do most of you guys run jack plates or setbacks anyway? Is there much gain in handling from the shorter mid and the setback?

Any advantage to running the sporty over the modded CLE? I know the sportmaster shafts are supposed to be bigger, and maybe one piece design too right?

Any input would be appreciated...

Thanks,

Mike

I've got a 96' Roark Built Euro with a 93 2.5 carb, and last fall the driveshaft snapped just above the water pump (as I hear they commonly do). The gearcase is a CLE w/ Bob's nosecone, allison skeg, and blowout ring. I have a 20" Sportmaster available to me, but I know that will require a different mid section, and shifter shaft. Anything else?

So here's my question: My boat was factory drilled for the 2.5 and it's a standard 25". Will I have to get a jack plate to go with the shorter shaft? Steering cables will be the problem right? Do most of you guys run jack plates or setbacks anyway? Is there much gain in handling from the shorter mid and the setback?

Any advantage to running the sporty over the modded CLE? I know the sportmaster shafts are supposed to be bigger, and maybe one piece design too right?

Any input would be appreciated...

Thanks,

Mike

Mike,