Sign in to follow this  
luvfastboats

what should my next prop be?

I just got a 1990 ProComp Ski. It came with a 96 2.5 260/CLE. It also came with a R&R 24 yammi copy, somebodies copy of a 26 Lightning ET and a mazco 30 re3. from another boat/motor combo i have a spinnelli 32 cleaver. All are 3 blade.

I use the boat for lake running and am primarily interested in good holeshot and mid range punch. It's too crowded around here for safe top speed runs (lake lice infestations) so i'm not trying to sqeeze the last couple of MPH out of the boat. I don't want to turn much over 7500-8000 cuz i'm not a mercury mechanic and engine service life is an issue.

i was thinking of a 30 lightning or a merc 30 cleaver but am open to other ideas.  any comments or suggestions?

luvfastboats

dan

DAN...yep you said it already...

14.5"x 30" Merc Cleaver and ET....

The STV is already good at hole shot and they are second to none in the midrange...those props will compliment those aspects of the hull.

Aha wise ones. I can't afford both, well i could but then i'd probably end up a single guy with no boat. So which one should i get the cleaver or the ET? There's a 30 ET over on s&f if thats the way more experienced STVers think would be best for my application.

dan

My Mercury 28ET goes straight to 7800rpm(limiter) at 102mph! Once you try a REAL ET you will understand why everyone wants one! The ET also carries the hull better when just crusing around in the sub 60mph zone compared to the cleaver.

Thanks so very much guys. I wish i could afford both but it looks like i'm gonna start looking for an et. Is there any pitch that works best on a procomp ski. I have a 26 and hit my self imposed rev limit with a ton of motor left. Both jjones2 and euroski are running 28's but there's a good looking 30 FS on S&F. Do you guys think a 30 would be to much prop? what would i lose/gain with the additional pitch? or should i just try to find a 28?

thanks so much

dan